Sleep paralysis and walking lamp

This lamp walked about the windowsill. 3D image by Jan Sandahl.
This five legged lamp walked about the windowsill. 3D image by Jan Sandahl. Texture was not feet though, I only grabbed a texture rather close to my impression. I wonder how many designs are created in dreamtime, generally?

This morning while hovering on the verge of sleep, I drifted into sleep paralysis and hypnogogic imagery again. I had my laptop on, a couple of meters away from me and the fan triggered impressions of someone vacuuming. I soon understood I was in sleep paralysis, because it was difficult to move and I had no vision. Nevertheless I got slight sensation of movement and forced myself to sit up, still in the dark. I also asked “who is vacuuming?” a bit annoyed (now, that´s deep self inquiry! 😉 ). I got no response and it confirmed even more that it was happening in my mind.

A simple experiential insight: trying to break sleep paralysis by trying to wake up by moving triggers OBE. It´s exactly what techniques are designed to achieve. Relax, get into a “mind awake body asleep” state, get the vibrations going and eventually attempt to move out in one way or another.

A simple, experiential insight: trying to break the sleep paralysis by trying to wake up by moving triggers OBE. It´s obvious but it came as a direct insight which is different than intellectually knowing something. I´ve even done it before but it didn´t hit me like it did just now. It´s exactly what techniques are designed to achieve. Relax, get into a “mind awake body asleep” state, get the vibrations going and eventually attempt to move out in one way or another.

Somehow, I was not trying to have an OBE, only to break sleep paralysis. Or perhaps a little of both, but at a certain point I was not set on the goal of having an OBE.

I demanded vision and it got a little better. I tried focusing on the hands again, but could not see my hands at all this time. I continued to mentally stand up from the sofa. It was still dark. The sensation of movement and having stood up wasn´t all that convincing either. I demanded vision once again, and it got brigther.

I was now beside a sofa in a large room that looked perfect for a yoga class or something similar. In the corner of my eye, to my right, I actually saw someone with a vacuum cleaner but I didn´t give it more attention than that. I aimed for the windows and intended go get closer to them and fly out right through them. Then there was a sense of someone telling me not to fly away. It distracted me and I looked around but saw noone. Instead, in another window, than the one I was aiming for, I saw a small lamp with five or six legs walking on the windowsill partly behind a curtain. The room, windowsill, curtain and lamp was all bathing in warm daylight, and the texture of the lamp and curtain matched with a bright colorful pattern.

Now the vision cleared fully and lucidity spiked and it was all too real to be unreal I thought. Despite knowing I was dreaming I had second thoughts and doubted that I was asleep – but the walking lamp gave it away and I had to laugh out loud. At the same time as lucidity increaed my navigation capability started failing and I started to drift around as if there was no gravity. I tumbled around without control and the last thing I saw before it faded away was ornaments in the ceiling. Still I was in a good mood from the funny lamp and I didn´t mind.

Perhaps the voice (or sense of) telling me not to fly away was an invitation to stay and work on basics?

Sleep paralysis and walking lamp

Leave a Reply

